COAL MINERS OF PENNSYLVANIA

 

465712_3984493460998_381230844_o

Again, not to far from my home is the Coal Region Area where there is so much History from the past, that it’s hard to cover it all.

This Image was taken at the Anthracite Memorial in Shenandoah, PA That is dedicated to the thousands of Miners who worked and slaved in a man created hell, the Anthracite Mine.  Click on the Image to make it larger and read what it say’s.  To me, this tribute to the Miners is very moving.

Back in the early 1800’s Immigrant’s from Europe started to enter this Country of our looking for a better life.  They came here by the thousands, all wanting to earn money to support their families.  Gradually, more and more settled in the Coal Region, each with their own way of Life.  Polish, German, Italian, Dutch, American, just to name a few all found work in the Anthracite Mines of PA.  Small towns called “Patches” started growing near the Mines they worked in.  Patches started growing into towns such as Pottsville, New Philadelphia, Shenandoah, Gordon, Minersville, Buck Run and many more.  Many of the once small towns are now gone, but the legacy of them still remain.

Working in the Mines back then was back breaking and very hard work.  The only light they had to light the way was a candle on top of the Miners hat that they wore.  It was cold, wet, and very dangerous work for them. Working by pick and shovel to load a ton of Coal, was god awful to do. Coal was hauled out of the Mines by Mule or Horse.  Pay for them was not all that great.  Working for mere cents a day to support a family or to buy stores at the Company Store was always there.  Most of the time, the Company owned the Miners cause they owed much to the Mine Boss that there was not much choice. 

Hundreds of these Miners lost their Lives in the Mines.  Cave In’s, explosions from Methane Gas, broken limbs, and Black Lung from breathing all the coal dust took a toll that is still in existence to this day.  Even though there are not many working Coal Mines up there now, only 2 that I am aware of, the hard working people of the Coal Region are still a friendly, loving, will give the you the shirt off their back, drinking beer, but never piss them off,kind of people.  My Wife is one of them.  More to follow.

Thanks to you.

Les

Published by Les

I am 77 yrs. young and now retired. I worked in the Machinist Trade for 24 yrs. Served in the US Navy with a Tour of Duty in Vietnam. Being retired I do enjoy Photography with my Nikon and Pentax Camera's, snooping around in Historic and Abandoned places, using my Scroll Saw, Reading, Travel, riding a bicycle on the many Trails that are around my area, and what-ever else will interest me at the time. Come with me and see where I go, where I have been, and my Life surviving Retirement.

Leave a comment

Misery Contest

(I can’t even win that)!

Build Radical Resilience with Me

By Kathryn VanBoskirk LCSW

My Rambles

Stories, life and more..

Willow's Wonderings

A personal blog because I can't seem to stop making them.

The History Hunter

Hunting history one place at a time

John Cowgill: Stories of the Railroad

Stories of my Railroad Journeys

The Full Itinerary

Make the most out of each and every trip

gregfallis.com

it's this or get a real job

Marsha Ingrao - Always Write

Having fun blogging with friends

Lizzie's Week

One page at a time

The Book of Esther

"These are a few of my favorite things..."

christiontheroad

retired roaming

Granny in Gear

Pedaling past 60. . .Years, that is, not miles!

Sometimes You Get So Confused

Stop here and see if there's something to help you get things untangled.

Liv2RV

Living and working around the country in a RV

Chambers on the Road

RV, other Travels and Home Life in Retirement

Attorney Attire

health, travel, and career blog